Skip to content

Deployments

Info

This section is only for administrators, managers and advanced users

Deployments are a powerful feature that allows advanced users to create a set of desktops based on a single template. Every user included in a deployment will have access to their own unique desktop.

With deployments, you can create and manage multiple desktops simultaneously for all chosen users. As the creator, you can easily manage all the desktops in one place through the Deployments section. You even have the ability to interact with each desktop and view the screens simultaneously.

How to create deployments

To create a deployment, you must go to the top bar and press the button Deployments button topbar

It will redirect to this page:

deployments page

Press the button New Deployment

You will be directed to a form where you can enter the necessary information for your deployment, including the name of the deployment, each desktop name that users will see, and a brief description.

new deployment form

Additionally, you must select a template from which to create your desktops. Once created, your desktops will be made visible to users, click on not visible / visible

Furthermore, you are required to specify the users that should be included in the deployment. In the final section of the form, you can select the necessary group of users as well as any additional users.

Note

A desktop for your user will also be created inside the deployment

The last section is the advanced options. Here, you can change the viewers of the desktops, the hardware and the thumbnail.

Set Co-owners

Warning

Users set as co-owners will have the same permissions as the owner of the deployment. They will be able to start and stop desktops, view the desktops, and access the deployment settings. They will not be able to delete the deployment or change the owner and co-owners.

To set co-owners, press the button co-owners button. A dialog box will appear where you can select the users you want to set as co-owners.

co-owners dialog

Start and Stop

To access the deployment, you need to click on the deployment name.

deployment list

To start a desktop, press the button Start

Once started, it will detect the "IP" of the desktop (if it has one), the "State" (If it is started or stopped), and the type of viewer can be selected

You can select the viewer you are interested in by pressing the drop-down menu

viewers dropdown

To stop a started desktop, simply to click on the stop button that will appear. This will change its status to "Shutting Down". While you can use the "Force Stop" option for an immediate stop, it may lead to closure issues and potential problems.

To stop all desktops, press the button stop icon

Videowall

Videowall is a feature that allows you to view all the screens desktops of a particular deployment simultaneously and in real-time. It also gives you the ability you to interact with any of the displayed desktops and use them as your own.

Warning

Entering another user's screen will take the control of the owner user.

Disclaimer

Please be aware that the owner's permission is essential before entering their desktop due to privacy concerns.

To access Videowall, click on the button videowall icon

You will be redirected to a page where you can see all the users' desktops.

videowall screen

To interact with a desktop, click on button maximize which will redirect you to a full-screen view of the selected desktop in full screen.

full screen videowall

RDP Viewers

Videowall won't display desktops that use RDP viewers

Make visible/invisible

To make the deployment visible or invisible means that users within the deployment can either view and access their desktop or not.

Visible

To make visible, click the button eye crossed button

A dialog box will appear

make visible modal

Once "Visible" is selected, the deployment will turn green

green deployment

Invisible

To make invisible, click the button eye open button

A dialog box will appear

make invisible modal

There are two options to choose from:

  • Don't stop desktops: This option will make the deployment invisible to the user. However, if a user is currently using their desktop at the time it's made invisible, they will still be able to use it until they decide it's stopped. Once it's stopped, the user won't be able to access it again until the deployment is made visible again.

  • Stop desktops: This option will also make the deployment invisible. However, if any user is already using their desktop, it will shut down their desktop immediately.

Once "Invisible" is selected, the deployment will turn red

red deployment

Recreate desktops

The "Recreate Desktops" function is intended to modify the deployment by adding or removing desktops based on changes made to user permissions. If a user is added or removed, this function will update the deployment accordingly by adding or removing their respective desktops.

To do so, click the button recreate icon

notification

Direct viewer file

This file is used to view the list of users in the deployment and their respective desktop URLs. Follow the steps below to download this file:

First click the button download icon

A notification will appear:

notification

You must confirm the notification to download the CSV file.

This file contains every username, their name, their email and a link that redirects to the user's desktop.

csv file content

Delete

To delete a deployment, press the button trash icon in the deployment list. All the desktops inside will be removed too.


Last update: June 14, 2024